Which cloud LMS platforms support compliance training for Canadian SMBs?
By Embay Consulting Inc.
All seven cloud LMS platforms compared here publish certificate expiry and some record of training activity. Five document automatic recertification. None publishes reporting built for the CNESST or a provincial OHS regulator. EmbayLMS names both Law 25 and PIPEDA, while D2L Brightspace and Docebo name PIPEDA. Every cell links to its source.
Key facts
- Platforms compared
- Seven, each from its own published documentation.
- Automatic recertification, documented
- Absorb LMS, EmbayLMS, LearnUpon, SAP Litmos and TalentLMS.
- CNESST or provincial OHS reporting
- Not published by any of the seven.
- Evidence read
- October 6, 2026. Each cell links to its source.
- Ranking
- None. The table reports what each vendor publishes.
How do the seven platforms compare?
The table reports what each vendor publishes about itself, read on October 6, 2026. Products are listed in alphabetical order, and no column is a recommendation.
| Absorb LMS | D2L Brightspace | Docebo | EmbayLMS | LearnUpon | SAP Litmos | TalentLMS | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Audit trail of record changes | View History shows who changed courses, users and certificates, and when source | Grade book event logs record grade changes; completion record protection not stated source | Immutable audit trail of admin actions, including completion changes source | Tamper-resistant, append-only audit log you can export source | Audit trails of who did what and when, 90 day window source | Records eSignature and acknowledgment against each completion source | Timeline audit log that cannot be altered; CSV export source |
| Certificate expiry and recertification | Certificate expiry, with automatic re-enrolment source | Award expiry with notice before expiry; automatic re-enrolment not documented source | Certification expiry; learner-started renewal; automatic re-enrolment not documented source | Expiry from the validity period; learners re-assigned before expiry, 30 days by default source | Certificate expiry with automatic re-enrolment source | Re-assigns the course before the lapse date and escalates to the manager source | Certification expiry; course re-assigned before or on expiry source |
| CNESST or provincial OHS reporting | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source | No CNESST or provincial OHS reporting published source |
| Law 25 and PIPEDA documentation | Neither Law 25 nor PIPEDA named source | Privacy centre names PIPEDA; Law 25 not named source | DPA names PIPEDA; Law 25 not named source | Documentation addresses Law 25 and PIPEDA source | Neither Law 25 nor PIPEDA named source | Neither Law 25 nor PIPEDA named source | Neither Law 25 nor PIPEDA named source |
| Retention settings | No retention setting documented; privacy policy defers to customer configuration source | Data Purge tool, enabled on request; no retention period published source | No retention setting documented source | Fixed schedule: completions 7 years, audit logs 3 years; only recordings configurable source | Fixed deletion stages after an account is deleted; not configurable source | Not on public pages; the help centre requires sign-in source | Automation deactivates or deletes users a set time after last login source |
| Evidence export formats | CSV data exports; certificates downloaded from the transcript source | CSV data sets from Data Hub; printable PDF certificates source | Reports in CSV and Excel; PDF certificates source | CSV and Excel exports source | Reports in CSV, legacy reports also PDF; PDF certificates source | Exports in multiple formats; formats not named source | User and course reports in CSV and Excel; downloadable certificates source |
| Records in English and French | Not published source | Localized certificate dates only; bilingual records not published source | Certificate language sets the date format only; bilingual records not published source | Report headers in English or French; bilingual certificate text not stated source | Not published source | Not published source | Not published source |
| Pricing model | Quote on request; billing unit not published source | Quote based on number of users; prices not published source | Quote by tier and active users; prices not published source | Per active user; prices published in CAD source | Quote on request, plans from 100 users; billing unit not published source | Tiered plans, some prices published; billing unit not published source | Per monthly signed-in user, in published tiers source |
Which platforms protect completion records from edits?
Three describe their log as protected from change. Docebo calls its audit trail immutable, TalentLMS says its timeline cannot be altered, and EmbayLMS describes a tamper-resistant, append-only log. Absorb LMS, D2L Brightspace and LearnUpon document who changed what and when. SAP Litmos records an eSignature and acknowledgment against each completion.
A log that records edits is not the same as a record that cannot be edited. Ask which one the vendor means.
Which platforms handle recertification automatically?
Five document it. Absorb LMS and LearnUpon re-enrol learners when a certificate expires, and EmbayLMS, SAP Litmos and TalentLMS re-assign the course before it lapses. D2L Brightspace documents expiry with a notice beforehand, and Docebo documents a renewal the learner starts. Neither documents automatic re-enrolment.
Does any platform report to the CNESST or provincial OHS regulators?
None of the seven publishes reporting built for the CNESST or a provincial occupational health and safety regulator, EmbayLMS included. Each documents general compliance reporting. A training record still has to show what an inspector asks for, which the audit-ready records page lists.
Which vendors address Law 25 and PIPEDA?
EmbayLMS documentation names both. D2L Brightspace names PIPEDA in its privacy centre, and Docebo names it in its data processing agreement. Neither names Law 25. Absorb LMS, LearnUpon, SAP Litmos and TalentLMS name neither law on the pages checked.
Naming a law is not compliance, for a vendor or for you. Under Law 25 the business that buys an LMS assesses it, as the Law 25 page explains.
What do the platforms publish about retention and export?
Retention varies most. TalentLMS documents an automation that deletes users after a set time. D2L Brightspace offers a purge tool on request. EmbayLMS and LearnUpon publish fixed schedules. Absorb LMS, Docebo and SAP Litmos document no retention setting on public pages.
For export, six name CSV or Excel. SAP Litmos says reports export in multiple formats without naming them.
Which one fits which organization?
That depends on which cell matters to you. If a log described as protected from change is the requirement, Docebo, EmbayLMS and TalentLMS publish one. If automatic recertification matters, five of the seven document it. If you need prices before a sales call, EmbayLMS and TalentLMS publish them, and SAP Litmos publishes some.
EmbayLMS is the publisher of this page and one of the seven columns. Its cells are sourced from its own pages, held to the same rule as everyone else's.
Related questions
- Which platforms protect completion records from edits?
- Three describe their log as protected from change. Docebo calls its audit trail immutable, TalentLMS says its timeline cannot be altered, and EmbayLMS describes a tamper-resistant, append-only log. Absorb LMS, D2L Brightspace and LearnUpon document who changed what and when. SAP Litmos records an eSignature and acknowledgment against each completion.
- Which platforms handle recertification automatically?
- Five document it. Absorb LMS and LearnUpon re-enrol learners when a certificate expires, and EmbayLMS, SAP Litmos and TalentLMS re-assign the course before it lapses. D2L Brightspace documents expiry with a notice beforehand, and Docebo documents a renewal the learner starts. Neither documents automatic re-enrolment.
- Does any platform report to the CNESST or provincial OHS regulators?
- None of the seven publishes reporting built for the CNESST or a provincial occupational health and safety regulator, EmbayLMS included. Each documents general compliance reporting. A training record still has to show what an inspector asks for, which the audit-ready records page lists.
- Which vendors address Law 25 and PIPEDA?
- EmbayLMS documentation names both. D2L Brightspace names PIPEDA in its privacy centre, and Docebo names it in its data processing agreement. Neither names Law 25. Absorb LMS, LearnUpon, SAP Litmos and TalentLMS name neither law on the pages checked.
- What do the platforms publish about retention and export?
- Retention varies most. TalentLMS documents an automation that deletes users after a set time. D2L Brightspace offers a purge tool on request. EmbayLMS and LearnUpon publish fixed schedules. Absorb LMS, Docebo and SAP Litmos document no retention setting on public pages.
Sources
- EmbayLMS features, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- Absorb Software, Absorb Software, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- D2L, D2L, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- Docebo, Docebo, accessed October 6, 2026
- EmbayLMS, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- EmbayLMS, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- EmbayLMS, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- EmbayLMS, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- EmbayLMS, EmbayLMS, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- LearnUpon, LearnUpon, accessed October 6, 2026
- Litmos, Litmos, accessed October 6, 2026
- Litmos, Litmos, accessed October 6, 2026
- Litmos, Litmos, accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026
- Epignosis (TalentLMS), Epignosis (TalentLMS), accessed October 6, 2026